As Dean of the Faculty of Nursing, Physiotherapy and Podiatry, I would like to begin by welcoming to this Web page all the people who come to this Faculty to study in any of the centre's degrees, the faculty and administration and service personnel, as well as teachers or students from other universities. From this page, we want to provide all the information about the structure and operation of the Faculty, as well as the degrees taught here. But we are also interested in knowing the different departments and areas, the research carried out, teaching and other activities that form the backbone of our academic career.

The origin of the current Faculty of Nursing, Physiotherapy and Podiatry is located in the female School of Health Technical Assistants (ATS) created according to the provisions of the Order of August 4, 1953 (BOE of September 1) by which schools are organized to comply with the Decree of December 4, 1953 (BOE of December 1) that unifies the studies of ATS and in the Male ATS School of the Faculty of Medicine of Seville, whose regulations are approved by Order of 26 February 1958 (BOE of April 19).

For approximately two decades, students received their theoretical teaching jointly, while the organization of practical teachings was carried out in a different way: the ATS depended on the Faculty of Medicine and the ATS on the Head of Studies of the School.

It will be in 1977, when Nursing studies are made university and the University School of Nursing of the University of Seville is created, teaching for the first time mixed teaching, both in theory and in clinical practice.

The University School of Health Sciences was established as such in 1992, by virtue of the Rectoral Resolution of November 16, when the Diplomas in Physiotherapy and Podiatry were incorporated into the already existing University School of Nursing.

On March 5, 1993, the Rectoral Resolution was issued for the coordination and constitution of its Center Board, which is currently governed by the provisions of article 27 of the Statute of the University of Seville.

On April 28, 2010, in Agreement 4.3 of the Governing Council of the University of Seville, the new denominations of the Centers are approved, turning the University School of Health Sciences into a faculty, with the denomination of Faculty of Nursing, Physiotherapy and Chiropody. Currently, the academic offer in our center consists of three undergraduate degrees, Nursing, Physiotherapy and Podiatry, in addition to a wide catalog of postgraduate training, with several University Extension Courses, Specialization Diplomas, Own Masters and an Official Master called "New healthcare trends in Health Sciences" that allows access to the Doctorate. Our academic offer is completed with an accredited Interuniversity Doctorate program in Health Sciences, coordinated by the Department of Nursing.

The aspects that distinguish our Faculty, among others, are the quality of the teaching given, both theoretical and practical, as well as the teaching methodology and organization, the dedication of the teaching staff to the students, research and internationalization.

We understand the training of future graduates from ethics, human values ​​and fundamental rights that include, on the one hand, training competent professionals in their field of action, as well as training people capable of collaborating and working with others, of sharing leisure and culture and to be supportive and develop a social conscience that favors the improvement of the whole society.

Finally, I would like to thank the students for their trust in the Faculty to achieve their objectives and in my capacity as Dean and on behalf of the Dean Team, teachers and administration and services personnel, I reiterate that we are here to be of assistance and to make them participate in the project that , as a Faculty we have undertaken for the next few years.

D. Maximo de la Fuente Ginés


Faculty of Nursing, Physiotherapy and Podiatry